Skip to content

DOM World Class Teams in TB and Pulmonary Fibrosis

We are thrilled to announce that members from the Respiratory Division and Translational Research in Respiratory Diseases (RESP) Program are among three of the top six teams selected in the recent Department of Medicine World Class Teams competition! This initiative is a key component of the Department of Medicine’s strategic plan to become the most research-intensive department in Canada.

Three Established World Class Teams and three Emerging World Class Teams were selected. The competition was intense and two of these teams (Pulmonary Fibrosis and TB) are headed by members of our group. The selected teams will receive prioritized fellowship support, recruitment opportunities, and advocacy for additional resources from McGill and our affiliated institutions. A key feature of the successful teams for the entire competition was their multidisciplinarity with strong representation from both clinical/epidemiologic and basic science.

Please join me in congratulating our members (highlighted below) for their exceptional dedication and achievements!

Emerging Teams

Pulmonary Fibrosis Research Network
Deborah Assayag, Carolyn Baglole, Ilan Azuelos, Jun Ding, Gregory Fonseca, David Langlais, Inés Colmegna, Marie Hudson, Silvia Vidal, Anastasia Nijnik, and Christian Pineau.

The Cardio-Kidney-Diabetes Medicine Team: DECIDE-CV
Sushmita Pamidi, Abhinav Sharma, Thomas Mavrakanas, Kaberi Dasgupta, Atul Verma, Rita Suri, Andrey Cybulsky, Nadia Giannetti, Matthias Friedrich, Michael Tsoukas, George Fantus, Ahmad Haidar, Dana Small, David Buckeridge, Elham Rahme, Giada Sebastiani, Jean-Francois Yale, Maia Kokoeva, Melissa-Rosina Pasqua, Hoi Yun Oriana Yu, Paul Sabatini, Ruth Sapir-Pichhadze, Suzanne Morin and Tricia Peters.

Established Team:

Jonathon Campbell, Maziar Divangahi, Andrea Benedetti, Richard Menzies, Faiz Ahmad Khan, Kevin Schwartzman, Andréanne Lupien, Erwin Schurr, Madhukar Pai, Marcel Behr, Michael Reed, Momar Ndao and Nandini Dendukuri.